Ginger Ale

Here’s a funny story about Ginger Ale in my household.

My mom usually makes Ginger Ale every Christmas in a soft drink bottle such as the one above and three Christmases in a row my dad threw it out thinking it was dirty water.

You know something like that is not going to sit well with any island woman especially not a Trini woman so needless to say my dad got cussed out every time but yet still the next year after my mom made her Ginger Ale he threw it out again thinking it was dirty water. Eventually he got the picture and he stopped throwing anything out before asking if it was okay for him to do.

So on that note I will give you my mom’s recipe for Ginger Ale. I will suggest leaving a memo for familiy members stating that it’s Ginger Ale in the bottle and not dirty water, just to be on the safe side. (lol)

Ingredients:

8 0z. green ginger

16 cups boiling water

1 lime

1 tbsp. cream of tartar

1 tsp. yeast

granulated sugar

Method:

Wash ginger and soak for one hour. Scrape brown skins off completely. Slice thinly.

Place on enamel or fireproof glass platter and dry in sun, turning frequently for 3 days. Grate and set into earthenware or heatproof  glass bowl.

Pour boiling wate over and and add the creame of tartar, limes and the strained juice of the lime. Stir to blend, cover and leave overnight. Add yeast. Stir and strain 1 hour later. Sweeten to taste. Bottle and cover.

Refrigerate after four hours.

Ginger_and_leaves

ginger